|Watch the on-ride POV
|Philadelphia Toboggan Coasters
|Frank F. Hoover
|Designer / calculations
|John C. Allen
|Wooden - Twister
|Riders per train
When Mr. Twister opened in 1964, it had a curved first drop, that immediately led into the now iconic double helix. It also was 72 feet at the time of its inaugural season. The people who rode it then said it was very tame, but the ride was closed for the 1965 season for an upgrade that would be a mainstay for the rest of its life at the park. The height was increased to 98 feet, the curved drop was switched out in favor of a new pre-drop following into the first drop, and the ride had extra turns added in, and a few big drops before transitioning into the original layout. In 1994, the owners decided to close the park, because there wasn't any more space to expand. In doing so, they couldn't move Mr. Twister, or the 1936 wooden coaster Wildcat, but they were able to relocate their Arrow Launched Loop, Sidewinder. So, the Wildcat and Mr. Twister were left Standing but not operating until 1999. It should be noted that during this time, after the successful relocation of Phoenix, Knoebels had their eyes on the coaster so they could relocate it for the 1998 season. But due to the coaster's dilapidated condition, and spacing issues, they built their own replica with the help of John Fetterman in Twister. As for Elitch Gardens, they relocated to another area, and because they couldn't relocate aforementioned coasters, with the help of John Pierce, and Hensel Phelps Construction, they built Twister II, which is largely seen as inferior due to its tame nature.
- on the Roller Coaster DataBase.